Rank ‘Em: Best Decades of Tar Heel Basketball Since 1950

5 of 7

#3 – 2000’s (2000-2014)

I had a hard time putting the current decade this low on the list but the 2002 and 2010 seasons were the difference here. I know in 2010 the team was basically rebuilt from the ground-up with young players, but to go from national champions in dominant, runaway fashion to NIT runner-up was a big let-down for me. 2003 was the most disappointing season in the history of the program and to go from being in the Final Four in 2000 to missing the NCAA tournament for back-to-back years (’02 and ’03) still blows my mind.

The 2000’s have been an interesting time for Tar Heel fans. We’ve experienced some of the highest highs (2005/2009 national titles) and the lowest lows (8-20 in 2002/ Rashad McCants dilemma). We also had the privilege to watch, in my opinion, the greatest Tar Heel ever in Tyler Hansbrough for four years. That can be a debate for another article, but just my opinion on the subject. College basketball has changed a lot during this time with the “1-and-done” era in full effect. The Heels haven’t had as many big time recruits coming in as we’ve been accustomed to because of Roy Williams’ style in recruiting. So with all the ups and downs, memorable and forgettable moments, I rank the current “decade” as #3 on the list.

12 NCAA tournament appearances (2000 & 20001, 2004-2009, 2011-2014)
4 Final Fours (2000, 2005, 2008, 2009)
2 NCAA Championships (2005, 2009)
2 ACC tournament championships (2007 & 2008)
7 ACC regular season championships (2001, 2005, 2007-2009, 2011-2012)
381 victories

1 National POYTyler Hansbrough (2008)

Joseph Forte (2001)
Tyler Hansbrough (2008)
Ty Lawson (2009)
Tyler Zeller (2012)

Retired numbers #50 Tyler Hansbrough (2006-2009)

*2,000th win was on March 2, 2010 against the University of Miami 69-62

NBA Alumni (19): Brendan Haywood (2002-2013), Joseph Forte (2002-2003), Marvin Williams (2006-2014), Rashad McCants (2006-2009), Sean May (2006-2010), Raymond Felton (2006-2014), David Noel (2007), Brandan Wright (2008-2014), Jawad Williams (2009-2011), Ty Lawson (2010-2014), Tyler Hansbrough (2010-2014), Danny Green (2010-2014), Wayne Ellington (2010-2014), Ed Davis (2011-2014), Tyler Zeller (2013-2014), Kendall Marshall (2013-2014), John Henson (2013-2014), Harrison Barnes (2013-2014), Reggie Bullock (2014)