UNC Basketball: McDonald’s All-American Game History is Rich with Tar Heels


This evening, the McDonald’s All-American selection committee made their anouncement as to which of the nation’s top high school basketball prospects would make the roster. North Carolina will be well represented once again, as they have been in years past, with two of their 2013 commits being selected in Isaiah Hicks and Kennedy Meeks. Both post players make up two thirds of yet another top ten class boasted by Roy Williams and his coaching staff.

Mar 28, 2012; Chicago, IL, USA; McDonalds High School All American east team center DaJuan Coleman (15) goes up for the opening tip against west team center Cameron Ridley (55) in the 35th McDonalds High School All American Game at the United Center. Mandatory Credit: Brian Spurlock

Hicks and Meeks will both be on the East Team along with #1 prospect and Tar Heel potential Andrew Wiggins. UNC was one of three ACC programs to land McDonald’s All-Americans with the others being Duke, who will be represented by Matt Jones and Jabari Parker, and NC State, who will have just one commit in the game in Anthony Barber.

Overall, the field is very strong as every top player that was expected to make the roster did. Last year, Kentucky tied a record by having four recruits attend the prestigious event and this year, they lead the field with five this year.  UNC has a rich history of Tar Heels in the McDonald’s All-American game.  Let’s take a look at the history of UNC players in the event.

Marcus Paige Marion, IA Linn-Mar 2012
P.J. Hairston Greensboro, NC Hargrave Military 2011
James Michael McAdoo Norfolk, VA Norfolk Christian 2011
Harrison Barnes Ames, IA Ames 2010
Reggie Bullock Kinston, NC Kinston 2010
Kendall Marshall Dumfries, VA Bishop O’Connell 2010
John Henson Tampa, FL Sickles 2009
Dexter Strickland Rahway, NJ St. Patrick 2009
Travis Wear Santa Ana, CA Mater Dei 2009
David Wear Santa Ana, CA Mater Dei 2009
Tyler Zeller Washington, IN Washington 2008
Ed Davis Richmond, VA Benedictine 2008
Larry Drew Woodland Hills, CA Taft 2008
Wayne Ellington Wynnewood, PA The Episcopal Academy 2006
Ty Lawson Clinton, MD Oak Hill Academy 2006
Brandan Wright Brentwood, TN Brentwood Academy 2006
Bobby Frasor Blue Island, IL Brother Rice 2005
Danny Green North Babylon, NY St. Mary’s 2005
Tyler Hansbrough Poplar Bluff, MO Poplar Bluff 2005
Marvin Williams Bremerton, WA Bremerton 2004
Sean May Bloomington, IN Bloomington North 2002
Rashad McCants Asheville, NC The New Hampton School 2002
Raymond Felton Latta, SC Latta 2002
Jawad Williams Lakewood, OH St. Edward 2001
Neil Fingleton Durham, UK Holy Name Central Catholic 2000
Joseph Forte Greenbelt, MD DeMatha 1999
Ronald Curry Hampton, VA Hampton 1998
Jason Capel Chesapeake, VA St. John’s Prospect Hall 1998
Kris Lang Gastonia, NC Huss 1998
Brendan Haywood Greensboro, NC Dudley 1997
Ed Cota Brooklyn, NY St. Thomas More Academy 1996
Vasco Evtimov Sofia, BG Lutheran Prep 1996
Vince Carter Daytona Beach, FL Mainland 1995
Antawn Jamison Charlotte, NC Providence Day 1995
Jeff McInnis Charlotte, NC Oak Hill Academy 1993
Rasheed Wallace Philadelphia, PA Gratz 1993
Jerry Stackhouse Kinston, NC Kinston 1993
Serge Zwikker Maassluis, NL Harker Prep 1992
Donald Williams Garner, NC Garner 1991
Derrick Phelps Pleasantville, NY Christ The King 1990
Brian Reese The Bronx, NY St. Nicholas of Tolentine 1990
Eric Montross Indianapolis, IN Lawrence North 1990
George Lynch Roanoke, VA Flint Hill Prep 1989
Matt Wenstrom Katy, TX Mayde Creek 1989
King Rice Binghamton, NY Binghamton 1987
J.R. Reid Virginia Beach, VA Kempsville 1986
Scott Williams Hacienda Heights, CA Wilson 1986
Pete Chilcutt Eutaw, AL Tuscaloosa Academy 1986
Steve Bucknall London, GB Governor Dummer 1986
Kevin Madden Staunton, VA Lee 1985
Jeff Lebo Carlisle, PA Carlisle 1985
Joe Wolf Kohler, WI Kohler 1983
Kenny Smith Queens, NY Archbishop Molloy 1983
Dave Popson Ashley, PA Bishop O’Reilly 1983
Curtis Hunter Durham, NC Southern 1982
Brad Daugherty Black Mountain, NC Owen 1982
Michael Jordan Wilmington, NC Laney 1981
Buzz Peterson Asheville, NC Asheville 1981
Sam Perkins Latham, NY Shaker 1980
Matt Doherty East Meadow, NJ Holy Trinity 1980
Jim Braddock Chattanooga, TN Baylor Prep 1979
James Worthy Gastonia, NC Ashbrook 1979
Al Wood Gray, GA Jones County 1977
Pete Budko Lutherville, MD Loyola 1977